Seventeen new healthcare scholarships were recently awarded to local high school seniors and above, totaling $14,000. In addition, North Country Hospital renews scholarships for consecutive years providing students stay in healthcare education and maintain a minimum 3.0 GPA.

Each year the scholarship review committee makes selections based on student essays, transcripts, extra-curricular activities, as well as financial need. Applicants must also live in the hospital’s service area in order to initially apply.

The Healthcare Career Scholarship is made possible by the annual North Country Hospital Scholarship Golf Classic, with proceeds each year going directly to awardees. The 29th annual scramble is set for Sunday, August 20, with 8 am registration and a 9 am shotgun start at Newport Country Club. This year a total of eight awards were received from this fund. They went to Lake Region Union High School graduates Rebecca Doucet, Emily Klar and Brooke Morley; United Christian Academy graduate Tristan Roy; and North Country Union High School graduates Kaeden Beswick, Dawson Cote, Alex Giroux and Hannah Lancaster.

Caryl B. Custer Scholarship for Nursing Students awards went to North Country graduates Sierra Daigle and Kathryn Goulet; Lake Region graduates Carly Boudreau, Taylor Lawon and Breanne Silvestro. This fund was created by summer resident Dr. Keith Custer in memory of and on behalf of his wife Caryl, who was a nurse manager in Florida for many years. She individually supported many nursing students with scholarship monies in the past.

Scholarship recipients

Kendra Fecteau accepts a Toni Smith Scholarship award from Steve Hurd, Director of Cardiopulmonary Services and member of the scholarship review committee.

This year two Lake Region graduates, Avery Marcotte and Olivia Owens, received The Legends Scholarship. This fund was created in 2010 and has since named some “Legends” of North Country Hospital: Robert Trembley, MD, Thomas A.E. Moseley, MD, A. David Alsobrook, MD, and Cecile Gelineau, RN.

In 2015 the Sidney A. Toll Scholarship Fund was created, honoring long time previous CEO and founder of North Country Hospital’s scholarship golf tournament. This year’s recipient is Andrew Franklin, a junior attending the University of New Hampshire.

Scholarship Students North Country Hospital

A few scholarship recipients from North Country Union High School include L to R: Alex Giroux, Sierra Daigle, Katie Goulet and Kaeden Beswick.

The Toni Smith Memorial Scholarship was established in 1983, following the death of Toni who was a respiratory therapist at North Country and died of melanoma at the age of 28. This year a scholarship was awarded to respiratory therapy student Kendra Fecteau.

Contributions to North Country Hospital for any of the scholarship funds help sustain these awards for years to come. Students receive awards for 2-year, 4-year as well as graduate programs. Call the Development/Community Relations office (802) 334-4186 for more information.